A Catalogue of Creepy Kooks

It would appear that Zomtober is encouraging people to not only paint their entries for this challenge, but to also paint figures tangentially related to the subject matter, resulting in additional postings midweek. Whilst it gives me additional eye-candy to look at, it also makes me feel like I’m slacking…

I deliberately picked the Scooby Doo project for this month, as I was aware that the first half of the month work commitments would result in less hobby time, and as the majority of the figures were already painted, it gave me a bit of breathing space.

So, last week I introduced my gang of mystery-solving teens, so it’s time to bring on the monsters…

As the first episode of Scooby Doo was broadcast in September 1969 (which makes it one month older than me) and has remained on our screens in various incarnations ever since, the gang has encountered a vast array of “supernatural” threats. From haunted suits of armour to spectral yeti, pterodactyl men to headless horsemen and everything in between. So, from a gaming point of view, this means that you can effectively use any “monster” figure you want.

However, as Scooby Doo was originally a Saturday morning kids show, to preserve the look and tone of the show, you need to be a little selective when it comes to choosing figures. Whilst the various ghosts and monsters encountered by the gang were supposed to be scary, they weren’t horrific. So whilst you may have a large collection of gore-splattered zombies in your collection, if you’re trying to replicate the show, don’t use them. The dead may (allegedly) walk in Scooby Doo, but they’re unlikely to want to chew your face off…

So, bearing in the mind the above, here is my first gallery of ghastly ghouls…

Toxic

Our first figure is the Toxic Sludger from Wizards of the Coast’s short-lived Dreamblade CMG. As you can see from the picture, this is a substantial piece of plastic. Cast in translucent green plastic and depicting a oozing radioactive spirit rising from a barrel of toxic waste, this is a cool figure. As I was happy with the pre-painted barrel as it was, all I did with this figure was rebase it, which probably took as long as repainting the whole figure would. All Dreamblade figures, although cast in a flexible rubbery plastic, are attached to 1.5″ square plastic bases, possibly constructed from the hardest substance known to man. Be warned, if you are considering buying any Dreamblade figure with plans to rebase it, to remove the base takes time, effort, a variety of tools and much swearing. When the Earth is reduced to a radioactive cinder, all that will be left are super-intelligent cockroaches and the bases from Dreamblade figures…

eBay is probably your best bet for finding Dreamblade figures, as the game wasn’t popular enough to spawn a thriving secondary market for singles, such as those that exist for Heroclix.

Fishman

Next we have a Deep One from Wizkids Horrorclix game. Another figure that I just rebased, as the pre-paint was pretty good and I didn’t think I could replicate the glossy finish. A very nice figure, although not strictly as described by Lovecraft. But as a finned fiend to bedevil my mystery-solving teens, it does the job. Horrorclix figures are easier to find than Dreamblade figures, but you’re probably looking at £3.00 upwards to get one of these.

Nosferatu

Another Horrorclix figure, this time the Nosferatu. Whilst I did re-paint this one, it ended up being similar colours to the pre-paint, just better applied. Vampires have appeared in Scooby Doo several times, but are more commonly depicted as the “classic” vampire stereotype, i.e. Bela Lugosi-style, rather than the ultimately more creepy Nosferatu-style vampire from the film of the same name. As this figure is cartoonish, yet creepy at the same time, I felt it an ideal fit for Scooby Doo gaming.

Sacrecrow

Next we have a Scarecrow with Shovel, from Ral Partha Europe. This figure is readily available as part of the Die Grauzone range, for £2.75. Another nicely sculpted figure, this sack-headed scarecrow armed with sickle and scythe looks exactly the kind of “monster” that would be unmasked as a criminally inclined property developer or some such. Whilst I do own some pumpkin-headed scarecrows from West Wind Productions, as they are quite obviously made from sticks they don’t really fit the criminal-in-costume vibe we’re looking for, even though they’re nice figures. Unfortunately, the site only shows one of the four you get, but they’re all of similar quality.

Spectre

Our final figure for this week is the Spectre, from Citadel’s Night Horrors range. A fairly substantial piece of lead, depicting a classic sheet-style ghost, with the nice touch of making the sheet partially moth-eaten. As the Night Horrors range came out in 1989, you might have a little bit of difficulty finding one of these. I bought it new, because I’m old, and this figure has been many different colours until I settled on the colour scheme you see above. Totally Scooby Doo, in my opinion.

So, that’s all for this week. Next week we’ll have the second part of the gallery, with another selection of monsters and ghosts suitable for Scooby Doo gaming. However, I may slip one or two in that are Not Suitable for Saturday Mornings, as sometimes you need a little bit of blood…

One thing you won’t be seeing, however, is the monster that will be featuring in the proposed AAR scheduled for the end of the month. Got to maintain a certain element of mystery, after all…

Comments and feedback appreciated, as always.

5 thoughts on “A Catalogue of Creepy Kooks

  1. Cracking stuff Jez, and some real “Scooby Doo” style monsters there! I particularly love the “Toxic Sludger”, that is a truly brilliant figure.

    I do however think that some of the figures are really more suited to…..

    Goober and the ghost chasers., or…..
    The Funky phantom, or…
    The Beuford files, or…
    Fangface, or…
    Captain caveman, or…

    OK I’m out, I’ll leave it for Simon or you to jump in here with the ones I’ve missed.

    Cheers Roger.

    Like

    • Thanks Roger. As you’ve probably gathered from this and previous posts, I have a bit of a soft spot for transparent figures. Next week’s post fill feature at least twice as many creatures and several more translucent figures. And my version of one the iconic characters from the series. Busy week ahead.

      Like

  2. This is brilliant Jez! I love the miniatures, especially the transparent ones I might have to go and have a look for some myself. I can feel a Ghostbusters distraction coming on!

    Like

    • Thanks Michael. As Ghostbusters is my all time favourite film, I have been collecting and painting figures with both Scooby Doo and Ghostbusters in mind. Which is why I don’t really have any zombies. Next week’s post will showcase a few more transparent figures (although my previous post entitled ‘Major Threats’ shows some bigger ones), along with more “solid” ghosts and monsters. I will be getting some of Crooked Dice’s paranormal exterminators at some point, as Ghostbusters is another project that’s been on the back-burner for a while.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Things That Go Bump in the Night | Carrion Crow's Buffet

Leave a Reply

