View From the Crow’s Nest – December

“Are you troubled by strange noises in the middle of the night? Do you experience feelings of dread in your basement or attic? Have you or your family ever seen a spook, spectre or ghost? If the answer is ‘Yes,’ then don’t wait another minute. Pick up the phone and call the professionals…”

As hinted at in my previous post (Gods & Monsters), December sees the start of my most ambitious project to date – The Ghostbusters Project. This is something that I have wanted to do for a while, as Ghostbusters is without doubt my favourite film of all time. However, prior to 2014, if you wanted to have Ghostbusters in 28mm, you had to find suitable proxy figures and convert them.

As we wargamers are an enterprising and ingenious lot, I’m not the first to attempt this, as way back in 2009 (which was, incidentally, the 25th anniversary of the first movie), a gentleman named Carmen created his own version of the Ghostbusters, using Heresy Miniatures Inspectors as the basis for his conversions and going so far as to scratch-build teeny-tiny Proton Packs. The results of this labour of love can be found here, which links to the first post of many regarding this project.

Then in August 2014, Crooked Dice released their Paranormal Exterminators. Finally we had representations of Venkman, Stantz, Spengler, Zeddemore and the Class V Free Roaming Vapor that has come to be known as “Slimer.”

But we almost didn’t have them, as whilst Karl of Crooked Dice wanted to make them, Graeme wasn’t as convinced. They sold out of their initial run in five days…

Buoyed by the success of their initial foray into the realms of paranormal investigation and elimination, the first four ‘busters were soon joined by the Harbingers, representing the possessed versions of Dana Barrett and Louis Tully, shortly followed by three more Paranormal Exterminators – Ray with a Slime Blower, Louis as a Ghostbuster and a jump-suited Dana, the figure for which doubles up for Ripley from the 1st Alien movie. The most recent release was Janey, which represents Janine as a Ghostbuster, something that has actually only happened in the cartoon and IDW comic books. I have it on good authority that Crooked Dice will be providing suitable transport for their Paranormal Exterminators in the new year and there have been rumours that we may see an all-female team of Paranormal Exterminators joining the ranks…

Now that we had available all the miniatures we could possibly need to field a varied roster of Ghostbusters. Surprisingly, whilst many have obviously bought these figures, I was only able to find one series of postings on the GB Fans forum, showing off what the poster had done with his miniatures. The thread starts here, and is worth a visit, as CaptCyan has not only painted two sets of miniatures, he has also converted a Hasslefree Miniatures Louise miniature into Janine (this was prior to the Janey figure being released), built a fire house and provided suitable transportation for both sets of ‘busters.

So, what can you expect from me during this project? Well, as I have now finally purchased the necessary miniatures and gathered the remaining terrain, vehicles and other ‘stuff’ I need for this project, the end result should see – a four-person team of Ghostbusters, their headquarters, their means of transportation and a variety of spooks, spectres and ghosts for them to bust.

However, interspersed with my progress, I will also be looking at other movies and media that I feel comfortably fits within an ‘expanded’ Ghostbusters universe, as well as media that is definitely “canon”. As I have strong opinions on what does and doesn’t constitute ‘Ghostbusters’ (as you will discover when I discuss West End Games Ghostbusters RPG), hopefully the majority of you Ghostbusters fans will agree with me. If not, then at least you will have discovered some entertaining movies and tales.

So far, so wordy…so let’s finish up with a few pictures…

This is the building I am intending on using for my Ghostbusters HQ;

Firehouse

This is an O Scale railway building, released under the Plasticville brand by Bachmann, specifically 45610 Fire House. Whilst O Scale, or On30 as I believe it may be known in America, this is perfectly serviceable for 28mm. This particular hard plastic kit is readily available in the United States, and used to be in the UK. However, the two sites which regularly stocked Plasticville buildings have stopped selling them. Boo! However, after an extensive web search, I have found an online UK stockist, namely Tower Models in Blackpool. They have the above kit in stock for £21.00, amongst some other Plasticville goodies. (NB: Due to the way their website works, I can’t post a direct link to the relevant page, so follow the link and select ‘American On30’ form the menu on the right hand side, then ‘Plasticville Buildings.’)

The above building I have deliberately not attached the roof, as I wanted access to the interior, as we can’t really have a Ghostbusters HQ without having somewhere to store the captured ghosts, can we?

Scouring both my bits box and the crate in which all the DIY fixtures and fittings are stored, I cobbled together this:

Containment

Currently this is in three parts; the containment gird wall panel, the platform and the computer terminal. The gas cannisters will also be within the HQ somewhere. Having dry-fitted this within the building, I have decided that I won’t be putting the computer on the platform, as this doesn’t leave room for any figures to operate the controls.

Of course, we also need some wheels…

Ambulance

Whilst I could have gone with a more conventional SUV or Estate car, as the original Ectomobile is a “1959 Cadillac Miller-Meteor Futura Duplex End Loader” (apparently), I felt that my Ghostbusters transportation should be equally…classic. I was lucky enough to find the above beauty on eBay, which is a Lledo “Days Gone” 1953 Pontiac Delivery Van with the ambulance livery of the Milwaukee County Institutions, on a Buy It Now for £3.00 excluding postage – so I Bought It Then. When it arrived, I initially thought it looked a little small, but once I put some figures next to it, I realised it was just right. And it fits through the door of my firehouse, so bonus there too…

ProjectG

But where are my Ghostbusters? Well, as you’ve probably gathered by now, I haven’t gone the traditional route with them. I will be getting a full set of Crooked Dice’s figures at some point, to paint up as the original quartet, along with their Ectomobile, but these are My Ghostbusters, so they might not be what you’re expecting…

Ghostbusters1

So, from left to right, we have Vincent B. Ruddock from Heresy Miniatures and Crackpot Inventor, Scientific Advisor A and Paranormal Exterminator B, all from Crooked Dice. Why these figures, you may ask. I shall explain…

The first figure I picked was an actual ‘Ghostbuster’ and I picked the one that I thought looked most like me. The second figure was ‘Doc Brown’, as he looks like my friend Chris (although he doesn’t think he looks like Christopher Lloyd – he does). My third was ‘Osgood’, as I felt I needed a woman’s touch (don’t we all…) and if I gave her a blue lab coat, like the Ghostbusters wear in their TV ad, she wouldn’t look like Osgood. My final choice was that I needed some muscle, and who better than to provide it than Mr Diesel? As his outfit already included straps and goggles, all he needed was a Proton Pack and he was ready to go. However, my version will not kill you with his cup – he will however sell you a licensed Ghostbusters coffee mug, one of which he just so happens to have to hand…

Of course, Vin ‘Buster doesn’t really suit the ’53 Pontiac Delivery Van, so I may have to find a suitable ‘Muscle Car’ for him to drive…

So, that’s all for this post, but there will be plenty more to come.

You know who to call…

18 thoughts on “View From the Crow’s Nest – December

  1. Great posting Jez, and a corking plan for a project. Love the building and car, and an interesting choice of minis for your team of Ghostbusters 🙂 There’s quite a bit of painting to be done so I’m really looking forward to seeing where you go with this and doubtless they’ll be plenty of ghosts (and goblins!?!) coming our way too?

    Like

    • Thanks Simon. Yes, rather a lot of work, so I won’t be restricting it to a single month. And of course there will be a variety of paranormal entities along the way, including ghosts, revenants and a couple of ‘big bads.’ It will hopefully be as fun to watch, as it will be to do. 😉

      Like

  2. Wow that’s a project and a half you’ve got on your hands there Jez, I do love those “O” scale buildings, and the car looks spot on!

    Looking forward to seeing where you go with this (with you never know!! but the ride there is usually fun.)

    Cheers Roger.

    Like

    • Thanks Roger. It does seem to have grown a little since I first thought of doing it. But if you’re going to do Ghostbusters, you might as well do it right.
      And thank you very much for the unexpected parcel and card. Very much appreciated. I’ve had my eye on these for a while – the Anuran Empire finally has ground troops! There may very well be an alien invasion in the new year…will the superheroes of Earth be able to repel the invaders?
      Looks like I have a new project on my hands…
      Regards Jez

      Like

  3. This should be a good project for you and I wish you every success. It must help working on something you feel so passionate about. I look forward to reading more.

    Like

    • Thanks Bryan. As I seemed to have collected numerous ghosts, ghouls and other paranormal beasties over the years, as was seen during Scooby Doo month, I did really need someone to sort them out. And who else are you going to call? 😉
      And I have all new paranormal threats on the cards, so it should satisfy your particular area of interest too.
      Regards Jez

      Like

    • Thank you Gobbo (?). Will be quite modest compared to your hospital build, which is awesome btw. I shall be liberally stealing ideas from this, should I decide to do an abandoned asylum build, which will have many gaming uses.

      Like

    • Thanks Brummie. That’s what I’m hoping. Should you decide to paint yours up whilst I’m doing this, let me know and I’ll post a link to your blog from mine. There’s no such thing as too many Ghostbusters!

      Like

    • I thought you might approve, Michael. When I collared Karl at Warfare last year, I did suggest that a resin version of the Ectomobile would be a big seller, as a suitable diecast version will set you back at least £20. I’m not claiming it was my idea, but I may have sown the seeds… 😉
      With the new movie due next year, their sales are only going to increase, so it makes good business sense to expand the range. Of course, this year’s suggestion was ‘digital commadoes’ on hover-boards (I.e. Tron), so if they DO make them, I will take full credit for that!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Beyond Ghostbusters – Part 1 | Carrion Crow's Buffet

  5. Pingback: “Who Ya Gonna Call?” | Carrion Crow's Buffet

Leave a Reply

