Beyond Ghostbusters – Part 3

Before I begin with the next instalment of “Beyond Ghostbusters”, I would like to apologise for the lack of content posted over the festive period. Problems with my computer and festive activities interfered with my planned schedule. However, normal service has been resumed…

When there’s something strange in your neighbourhood, you know who to call…

However, when your neighbourhood is the Shady Rest Retirement Home, East Texas in 2008 and the something strange is an soul-sucking Egyptian mummy dressed like a cowboy, then you call…

Elvis Presley?!

I am, of course, referring to the wonderful horror comedy starring Bruce Campbell:

Whilst Mr Campbell is no stranger to facing the supernatural, having initially fought against The Evil Dead way back in 1981 (and it’s sequels) and an avatar of the Chinese god of death, Guan Di, in 2007’s My Name is Bruce, neither of these films had the same ‘feel’ as Ghostbusters. If you’re familiar with the movies above, you’ll know what I mean. If you’re not, go and watch them – the Evil Dead series is black comedy with plenty of gore, whilst My Name is Bruce is very silly, but good fun.

However, as Bruce Campbell is portraying an ageing Elvis Presley (or someone who believes he is Elvis), his performance is more restrained than usual. The antagonist of the movie combines a credible supernatural threat with a slightly whimsical appearance, being a soul-sucking Egyptian mummy dressed as a cowboy. And the humour is derived from the characters (including an elderly black man who believes he is JFK) and the situations they find themselves in, rather than jokes shoehorned into the film for the sake of a cheap laugh. And it is both funny and has a surprising amount of heart. To me, it definitely feels like it exists in the same universe as Ghostbusters, so it’s been added to my list.

As the movie only has three main characters, namely Elvis Presley (or Sebastian Haff, if he is actually an impersonator), “Jack” (or JFK, if his stories are to believed) and “Bubba Ho-Tep” himself, it should be relatively easy to ‘cast’…

So, for our ‘hero’, the King of Rock and Roll, Mr. Elvis Presley, we have several options. The most obvious choice is obviously this one from Hasslefree Miniatures:

HFA038 Bubba

This is Bubba, who is quite obviously based on the depiction of ‘Elvis’ in the movie, who does wear this particular outfit, although at no point is he armed as shown above. This is available directly from their website for £3.75 + VAT.

Alternatively, if you want a portly ‘Elvis’ complete with sunglasses, there’s this one:

This is The King – part of the Scarlet Brethren faction from the Shockforce miniatures range, now sadly discontinued. I managed to get one of these figures, so expect to see him suitably repainted at some point, but should you want one, eBay is probably your best bet.

If you have decided that you want an Elvis miniature in your collection, but would prefer a better armed and slightly younger version, RAFM is the place to go:

The Pretender

This is The Pretender, available directly from their website for $5.95, but they also have several more:

The Pretender #2The Pretender #3Samurai Elvis

As everyone should have at least one 28mm Elvis in their collection, if you haven’t already got one, choose your favourite and spend some of your Christmas money…

The character of Jack (or JFK, if you prefer) was slightly trickier – it’s an elderly black guy with a moustache, who spend the majority of the film in a wheelchair. The majority of 28mm wheelchair-bound miniatures are either Victorian women, mad scientists or Professor X. Having looked at all the figures available, the best bet would be to take this Heroclix Professor X:

And add hair and a moustache. For a similar, but much superior conversion, look at this:

This is Silas Doomchild, a character created by Roger Webb on his blog, Rantings from Under the Wargames Table.

For “Bubba Ho-Tep”, the choice was obvious, as there is a specific miniature directly inspired by the character:

The Western Mummy comes as part of a 3-pack from the Weird West range, in which you also get a Victorian Vampire and a rather nice werewolf. Available from Ainsty Castings for £7.50 for the three.

As we’re talking about unusual mummies, I thought I’d bring a couple more to your attention that break the stereotypical mold. The first is this one:

Listed as TZ5 “Imhotep” Mummy in Disguise, this dungaree wearing undead is available from Gringo 40’s as part of their Triganta XXX Zombie Hunters range, for £1.50.

Our final mummy is even cheaper…

This is INC9 Inca Mummy Seated from Outpost Wargames Services, part of their 28mm Inca range, which is available from their website for a very reasonable £1.00. Yes, that’s right, it’s a £1.00! Obviously, you don’t get the Inca Litter shown in the picture above, but this can be bought separately from their website. The only problem I have with Outpost Wargames Services is that they have yet to fully embrace the 21st century, so their website is a little old-fashioned (no direct links) as is the way you order stuff from them. But did I mention that it’s £1.00?

I’d just like to finish with a big thank you to all those who have made my first year of hobby blogging so enjoyable, with special thanks to Roger Webb, Simon Moore, Bryan Scott and Michael Awdry, who have been very supportive throughout the weird and wonderful projects that I have indulged in.

Best wishes and a happy new year to you all and to close…

“Thank you, thank you very much…”

18 thoughts on “Beyond Ghostbusters – Part 3

  1. Happy New Year Jez, and what a cracking post to start 2016 with 🙂 I’ve not admittedly seen the movie which has so inspired you. But I do own the “Hasslefree Miniatures” Elvis with which you refer – and it is a great mini imho. Another great selection of minis and I’m certainly tempted by the Imhotep… Thoroughly enjoying seeing this project snowball. Keep it up!!

    Like

    • Thanks Simon. Part of the reason for doing these posts is to introduce people to stuff they may not be aware of. It’s certainly worth a watch. And I came across Imhotep purely by chance – seemed obvious to include him in the post, as it dealt with a non-standard mummy. Got to love a redneck mummy armed with a length of pipe, right?

      Like

  2. A very happy New Year to you, Jez. Once again, I admire your choice of figures to represent the characters from the film. I actually own most of the ones you listed. Having just bought the High Moon rulebook by THW, I’ve added those three Weird West figures by Ainsty to my “to buy” list. I don’t know why I haven’t already bought them! Thanks for reminding me about them.
    Take care and stay healthy.

    Like

    • Thank you very much, Bryan. And you already own most of the figures? Will we be seeing an All Things Zombie: Viva Las Vegas batrep soon then? I am tempted to buy one of the Pretender Elvis’ (Elvises? Elvi?) And paint him like Evel Knievel…

      Like

      • I certainly do have plans to do an Elvis themed ATZ batrep. It’s tentatively called “The Return of the King” with apologies to JRR Tolkien. I own quite a few Elvis figures, one of which is a zombie Elvis.

        Like

        • A brilliant idea and a fantastic and fitting name. I’m imagining a line of Elivis’ blazing away at the advancing dead – it would definitely be “a little less conversation, a little more action”! I shall look forward to seeing it.

          Like

    • It’ll be a while before I play and post this batrep but I have most of the details already sorted out. By the way, I’ve just been to the Ainsty website and ordered their two Weird West sets – Good Guys and Bad Guys. Once again, many thanks for bringing them to my attention.

      Like

    • Thanks Gobbo. I have to admit enjoying sharing my views on my “expanded” Ghostbusters universe and hunting down the figures to represent the characters. I’m glad your enjoying it, as there’s plenty more to come.

      Like

    • Thanks Bob. Bubba Ho-Tep is one of those movies that the concept sounds like it’s going to be terrible, but is actually very good. I’d say Abraham Lincoln – Vampire Hunter falls into the same category.
      The problem with doing posts like this is that I end up wanting the miniatures I’ve posted, so the samurai Elvis will probably join my lead pile fairly soon.

      Like

  3. Another smashing post Jez, and many thanks for the “plug”, I haven’t see the movie either, (don’t know why I love Bruce Campbell), Evil dead 2 and 3 are two of my fav’s. Some of those mummies are brilliant and were it not for the fact that I’ve put a ban on my buying anything wargames related till at least April, I’d be off to look at them (paint, greenstuff and brushes etc.. don’t count by the way).
    Keep posting the madness, and have a cracking new year mate.

    Cheers Roger.

    Like

    • Not you as well, Roger… If you’re a Bruce Campbell fan, you do need to see it. And “My Name is Bruce”. And “Terminal Invasion”…
      And at least these figures are more reasonably priced than those Victorian “ghostbusters” I posted about. 😉

      Like

    • Thanks Michael. Happy new year to you too. Several more “Beyond Ghostbusters” posts planned, but the next post should really concentrate on my progress with my Ghostbusters, although redecorating their headquarters seems to be taking up all my time. However, a new batch of figures arrived yesterday, at least half of which are destined for this project, so plenty more ghostly foes to come.

      Like

    • Thanks Roger. When I finally get around to constructing a spooky old mansion, I shall certainly be using this and other posts on the blog for inspiration. And now I’m thinking about how to do secret doors behind bookcases…must…retain…focus..

      Like

Leave a Reply

