Send in the Clowns…

Time is a slippery bugger.

On Sunday night, the week stretches ahead of you, pregnant with possibility, and you sit safe in the knowledge that at some point during the next 7 days you will be able to spend a little of your free time indulging your passion for slapping paint on tiny little men.

Then various aspects of Real Life impinge on your free time, slowly eroding the time you thought you had, until you reach Saturday night and realise that you’ve achieved less than you had planned. You may have mowed and edged your lawns, hand-washed the hard floors of your dwelling and performed various sundry repairs and minor jobs that you had been putting off for a while, but what of your hobby?

Whinge over. I have actually managed to get a bit of painting done, but less than I had hoped. However, I’d actually miscounted the number of weeks in April, so I thought I had to have finished the clowns (and the clownmobile) by this weekend, when in actual fact, I still have another week. Yay!

And clown make-up is hard to do at 28mm, a factor I’d overlooked when I started this particular project. Boo!

So, a few more details have been added to Marionette, M.I.R.T.H. and Sweet William:

image

Marionette needs her facial features and clown make-up completed and a few minor details added (her ‘lipstick’ is NOT final – this was just a test). M.I.R.T.H. needs a bit more detailing, as does Sweet William, but we’re on the final stretch.

As for the remaining Clowns…

image

Merry Andrew, Silly Billy and Tom Foolery also just need a few more details, mainly patterning on their clothes and the dreaded clown make-up.

As for the Clownmobile, I may have spent most of my painting time on this…

image

image

image

I don’t know about you, but I think it looks particularly circus-y and pretty darn cool. This just needs a little more detailing and it’s done too.

So, that’s all for Clown months this week, but read on for a special announcement…

As regular followers will know, Roger Webb of Rantings from Under the Wargames Table and I pay regular visits to Eternia, creating our unique versions of Masters of the Universe characters in 28mm. These ‘He-Months’ are great fun, as we get to indulge our creativity and create unique figures for ourselves. However, as we are three He-Months in, it’s a little hard for others to join in. So, I came up with a cunning plan, which I discussed with Roger at Salute and he agreed it was not only a good idea, but came up with a better name…

FORGOTTEN HEROES!

Whilst there are a vast array of official Marvel and DC superhero and supervillain figures, both in metal and plastic, available AND various unofficial miniatures of both the big two’s characters and other heroes/villains, there will always be that little hole in your collection for a particular favourite or obscure character that they just don’t make. And that’s what Forgotten Heroes is about.

During the month of June, Roger and I are inviting you to join us in creating/converting an existing figure into a costumed superhero or villain of your choice, from any source. The rules, such as they are, are quite simple.

  1. The character you create must not yet have had an official or unofficial miniature made for it.
  2. The figure must be in 28mm scale.
  3. The figure must be completed during the month of June.
  4. In your first post, you should provide a bit of detail on the character you’ve chosen and why.

And that’s it basically. It can be as simple as repainting a DC Heroclix Blue Beetle as Marvel’s Goldbug, to as elaborate as converting a GW Imperial Guard Commissar into Marshal Law.

As there are a vast number of costumed heroes and villains out there (the Leopard of Lime Street, the Private Eye, the Savage Dragon, Megamind, Mr Incredible, Thermoman, the list goes on and on), the only question you have to ask yourself is this – Who will be your Forgotten Hero?

We’re announcing it now, to give you time to gather your thoughts and the necessary figure ripe for conversion. It’s open to all, just let me know if you want to join in and I’ll make sure links to your blogs are posted on here whilst it’s going on.

Next week, we finally finish these accursed clowns…

17 thoughts on “Send in the Clowns…

  1. Another great WIP of your Clown Gang, Jez, and their clownmobile is looking suitably inspired as well. Great colour choice my friend 🙂 As for June I’ll most definitely be in for that, and probably go with Rom – Space Knight as I’ve just discovered despite “Heroclix” doing the wraiths etc they haven’t done the main man himself. I might even do the Torpedo too – who sadly seems to be missing, and then there’s the Phantom, oh and… 😉

    Like

    • Thanks Simon. They’re coming along nicely and my Clownmobile is getting better and better. My daughter took one look at it and said “It reminds me of popcorn” – I’d say that was a good sign.
      And we thought Forgotten Heroes might tempt you… 😉

      Like

      • I was asked a question on TMP regarding the ‘rules’, as someone wanted to join in, but wanted to create a new version of a character that already has a miniature made for it, but I’m guessing they’re not particularly happy with the version. You’ve also mentioned the Phantom (I’m assuming this is ‘The Ghost Who Walks’) which I also believe a figure already exists for.

        So, an amendment to the rules; You can create a figure for a character that already has had an official or unofficial figure made for it, as long as you’re not using the existing figure as the basis for your new version. I think that covers it.

        Like

      • Hi Jez. There’s a very good “Heroclix” conversion of the Phantom doing the rounds, indeed I think someone actually sells them (as they’ve done a Rom too). But the only official Phantom I know of is “DC Comics” Phantom Stranger. Your amendment to the rules though makes perfect sense, and I’m already scrambling around for a few bits and bobs as I’d like to do a few if I can – maybe the Kings Watch [http://thebrownbagaeccb.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/kings-watch-1-dynamite-comics.html].

        Like

      • Yes, Michael has almost tempted me with them before on account of the Solomon Kane mini they do (same range as Phantom). However I’ve not hit the button on account of them seemingly not having updated their website since last year… and only wanting two minis from the US is a little expensive.

        I certainly have loads of ideas mind, so really looking forward to June now. I might even have enough for one a week 😉

        Like

        • That’s a problem I’ve also had – wanting only a couple of figures from across the pond, only to find that I’d be paying more on shipping than I’d be spending on actual miniatures.

          And it appears this little idea of mine is quite popular, as interest has been expressed outside of the ‘usual suspects’. Even my mate Chris has decided to take part – first time I’ve seen him motivated to do anything!

          Like

  2. Your daughter isn’t wrong, Jez. But then again, clowns are renowned for being extremely colourful. Camouflage is just an alien concept to them!
    I think I might take part in your Forgotten heroes challenge. If you’d ran it last month I’d have submitted my Chibi Vampirella conversion. On the other hand, Vampirella has had numerous unofficial figures of her made by a variety of companies. Still, I do have ideas, so count me in.

    Like

    • Stop teasing, Bryan, I want to see Chibi Vampirella! And as noted in my second reply to Simon, I’ve amended the rules slightly, so as long as it’s a conversion and not using the current official/unofficial version of the figure as the basis, you can pretty much do anyone you want.

      Like

      • Oh, cool! In that case I will show you Chibi Vampi and someone totally new. Small clue – it will be another Chibi and seeing as Chibi superheroes and supervillains are so incredibly rare, it could be anyone!

        Like

  3. Smashing stuff Jez, the Clown mobile particularly is excellent.
    As for “Forgotten Heroes”, you already know I’m in, with a couple of fig’s in mind already, this a great idea and I hope we get a few people joining our new merry ship of madness! I’m assuming that “toy” heroes are allowed as well? (like my Bullet man, but obviously not as I’ve already done him!).

    Cheers Roger.

    Like

    • Thanks Michael and welcome aboard! I’ve been mulling over this idea ever since I did Devil Dinosaur and thought it might be quite fun. Seems to be quite popular. Of course, now I’ve set the ball rolling, I’m not entirely sure who or what I’m going to do…

      Like

Leave a Reply

