The Most Sincere Pumpkin Patch…

The title of this post comes from the 1966 Peanuts TV special, entitled “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown”, in which the character Linus spends Halloween night in what he believes is “the most sincere pumpkin patch”, in the hope that the Great Pumpkin will manifest to bestow gifts upon deserving children.

So, is my pumpkin patch sincere enough to draw the attention of the Great Pumpkin?

Well, in the first part of this build, it was just a patch. The second part of the build made it a pumpkin patch. So, in this, the third and final part of my pumpkin patch build, I apparently need to add ‘sincerity’. As my local grocers do not appear to stock this (I’m assuming it comes is a small container, like glitter or spices, so it can be sprinkled), I’m just going to have to do what I always do – wing it – and hope that the Great Pumpkin approves…

So, when we last saw the patch, it looked like this.

We have the patch, we have the vines and we have the pumpkins. However, whilst it’s looking pretty good, it’s missing the vegetation that will make these pumpkin plants actually look like plants – so we need some leaves. And where does the cost-effective wargamer look for suitable vegetation? Anywhere that stocks plastic aquarium plants, of course.

Now, small caveat here – shop around. Whilst the component parts of aquarium plants – plastic vegetation, tiny stones and resin – are cheap in themselves, for some reason when they are combined into a  single product, this increases the price. So, eBay is your friend here, as ordering directly from China means cheap prices and free shipping. You may have to wait a little longer for them to arrive, so balance your temporal need against your budget.

Anyway, having found an aquarium plant with suitably shaped leaves, I removed several stems from the main plant:

Now, these ‘stems’ are approximately 4 inches long, so they are more like trees, so we obviously need to do a little bit of trimming. Taking 4 of the 7 stems, I cut just above each set of leaves, which resulted in several separate ‘leafy stems’:

Plenty of vegetation for my pumpkin patch – it was now just a case of attaching the leaves to my vines. This particular part took twice as long as it should have, and put my patience, ingenuity and vocabulary of expletives to the test. Luckily, I was able to rise to the occasion on all counts, although I possibly shouldn’t be proud of the last one.

Plastic aquarium plants are made of a flexible plastic which doesn’t like glue very much – PVA, polystyrene cement and superglue were all tried and failed to stick the leaves to the vines, or anything else for that matter. My next cunning plan was to use a soldering iron to melt the ends of the ‘stems’, then quickly attach them whilst still ‘melty’ to the vines. This also failed to work.

I then remembered that the majority of builds I’ve seen utilising plastic aquarium plants used ‘hot glue’ to attach them to the basing material…

Do I have a hot glue gun? Of course I bloody don’t.

However, to give insight into how my pinball mind works, I’ll show you how this led to a solution:- “Hot glue? No. Hot glue is transparent – looks like silicone sealant, which we do have. Don’t like the look of it and it’s annoying to paint, but would work. Have white sealant too, which would be better, Ah, also have own brand ‘no more nails’, if it can stick dado rails to walls, it should stick this…”

So, using a small scrap of cardboard, a generous amount of own brand ‘no more nails’ adhesive was squirted out, and each stem was dipped into this and then positioned where I felt it looked best. And it stuck everything in place, with no problems.

When this had dried overnight, the parts of the stems which still had adhesive residue on were painted with GW Goblin Green, then all the leaves were gives a wash of GW Salamander Green. I then painted over the dark patches of the base board with more Docrafts Chocolate Brown, mixed up a wash of more Chocolate Brown with Docrafts Black, and used this to blend in the two existing browns, to give a more ‘realistic’ looking transition between differing coloured parts of the ground. And this is what I ended up with.

And to show how effective the leaves look with the vines, here’s a close-up showing a bit more detail.

And whilst it may not be sincere enough to attract the attention of the (possibly mythical) Great Pumpkin, it does seem to have attracted the attention of Samhain, Demon of the Gourd and his pumpkin-headed minions…

That’s all for this instalment of Carrion Crow’s Long Halloween – as the patch is now complete, next week will bring something different…

On a final note, next weekend sees Warfare 2016 taking part in my home town of Reading, which I will be attending on Saturday 18th, so should any of my regular readers be attending, keep your eyes peeled for some one who (apparently) looks like this:

Image result for combat elite small soldiers

It’s disturbing how much I actually look like this action figure of Chip Hazard from Small Soldiers, even down to the expression. I am taller, though…

22 thoughts on “The Most Sincere Pumpkin Patch…

    • There is a strong possibility that the pumpkin patch may ‘manifest’ – which would require investigation. Whether this would be by my Ghostbusters, Enigma Investigations or someone else remains to be seen. Plus I need a few more ‘gourdlings’ and a touch more scenery to make this work – which are in progress.

      Like

    • Thanks Steve. Turned out pretty much how I’d envisaged it, so I’m quite happy. A batrep using this terrain may have to wait, but I think the Long Halloween will be going for a touch longer, so I’m sure something will turn up. 😉

      Like

    • Thanks Michael. It did come out quite well and expense was minimal, as most of the bits I had already. If I take into account how much of what I bought I actually used for this, I reckon the whole thing cost about £2.

      Like

    • Thank you very much, Roger. I am quite pleased with how it’s turned out – and if my painting of the Night Brigade had went according to plan last month, this wouldn’t have happened. But what to do next…?

      Like

    • Thanks Andy. That’s high praise coming from the master of Bushido boards. A graveyard, eh? For your Cult of Yurei, I suspect. You’ve piqued my curiosity now – might have to Google some images of Japanese graveyards, to see how they differ from our own. Although a board based on Highgate Cemetery would also be pretty cool – like a gothic labyrinth.

      Like

      • Correct for my Cult of Yurei Jez. I’ll have a bit of free time in a couple of weeks so it’s time for a new board, I’ll be doing some research over the next few weeks. I’m curious like yourself as to how they differ

        Like

    • Thank you very much, Tarot. That means a lot. Although it does need a little bit ‘more’. Might see if I can find a 28mm wheelbarrow or similar at Warfare, to load with a few more pumpkins. Oh and there will be pumpkin-men too or, as I like to call them, Jack o’ Liches…

      Like

  1. Ah, the wonderful Jack O’Lich…to create one, you must first have the body of a man or woman hung for murder, for this stretches the vertebrae in the neck, then snaps it. Remove the head and place the corpse in a smokehouse, until it has dried out. Take a fresh pumpkin and remove the pulp, leaving a hollow shell. Impale the gourd onto the spinal column rising from the neck, then dribble tallow onto this stump, created from the rendered fat of a difficult child. Carve a suitable expression into the pumpkin. Using ink mixed with your own blood, write your name or symbol on the interior of the gourd, then light the candle. The jack o’lich will now animate and do your bidding. Implacable, untiring, and casts a cheery glow wherever it goes. Use the left over pulp to make pie…mmm, pie…

    Like

  2. Now THAT reminds me of that really great old 1980`s Lance Henriksen movie “Pumpkin Head”

    Did someone mention pie… mmmmm. Hils make a truly fabulous pumpkin pie.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Welcome to Easy Street | Carrion Crow's Buffet

Leave a Reply

